Local Puerto Escondido Surfer Angelo Lozano Wins PXM International Vans Pro

PUERTO ESCONDIDO, Oaxaca (Sunday, November 16, 2008) - Puerto Escondido local Angelo Lozano (Puerto Escondido, MEX), 21, claimed a victory today at the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 3-Star PXM International Vans Pro in pumping six-to-eight foot (2 metre) surf. Lozano claimed the win in front of his home crowd over an international field of finalists including Gabriel Villaran (Lima, PER), 24, Ryan Turner (Huntington Beach, CA), 29, and fellow Puerto Escondido local David Rutherford (Puerto Escondido, MEX), 25.

All surfers on the ASP WQS work to earn points towards qualification for the ASP World Tour, with the top 15 seeds on the ASP WQS qualifying each year.

Lozano surfed impressively throughout the entire PXM International Vans Pro event, but saved the best for last, topping former Puerto Escondido event champion Rutherford, and Turner, who posted a perfect 10 and netted the event's highest heat total yesterday.

"I'm very proud and I'm proud of all the local surfers," Lozano said. "We have a lot of good tube-riders here and if we can get some more events I think we can see a lot more Mexican surfers on the WQS."

Villaran's second-place finish at the PXM International Vans Pro marks his second ASP WQS Final appearance, the other being the Monster Energy Pipeline Pro in 2006, proving that he excels in heavy barreling conditions.

"I got a fourth place in the Monster Energy Pipeline Pro in 2006," Villaran said. "The waves are similar, although my Final at Pipe in Hawaii was much bigger and hollower. But you get some really long barrels here, because you know it's a sand bottom, so you keep going as far as possible before you have to jump off."

Turner and Rutherford both surfed amazingly throughout the entire event, but were unable to find the scores needed to pass the young local surfer and finished third and fourth respectively.

The PXM International Vans Pro marked the last ASP WQS event of the season in North America, but the series will be back again next year with several events increasing their ratings points and prize purses significantly.

For all of the PXM International Vans Pro news log back on to www.aspworldtour.com or www.aspnorthamerica.org

PXM International Vans Pro Final Results:

1 - Angelo Lozano (MEX)
2 - Gabriel Villaran (PER)
3 - Ryan Turner (USA)
4 - David Rutherford (MEX)

PXM International Vans Pro Semifinals Results: (1st and 2nd advance)

SF 1: Angelo Lozano (MEX) 1st, Gabriel Villaran (PER) 2nd, Cory Arrambide (USA) 3rd, Matt Mohagen (USA) 4th
SF 2: Ryan Turner (USA) 1st, David Rutherford (MEX) 2nd, Gabe Garcia (USA) 3rd, Manuel Selman (CHL) 4th

PXM International Vans Pro Quarterfinals Results: (1st and 2nd advance)

QF 1: Cory Arrambide (USA) 1st, Matt Mohagen (USA) 2nd, Dean Brady (AUS) 3rd, Rusty Long (USA) 4th
QF 2: Angelo Lozano (MEX) 1st, Gabriel Villaran (PER) 2nd, Eric Ramirez (MEX) 3rd, Chad Compton (USA) 4th
QF 3: David Rutherford (MEX) 1st, Ryan Turner (USA) 2nd, Andre DeMarco (ARG) 3rd, Andrew Doheny (USA) 4th
QF 4: Manuel Selman (CHL) 1st, Gabe Garcia (USA) 2nd, Brandon Ragenovich (USA) 3rd, Blake Howard (USA) 4th