Zubizarreta Leads Favorites on Full Action Day

CORDOAMA, Portugal (Friday, July 11, 2008) - The Superbock Pro,
an ASP WQS 1-Star MenÃÔ event, saw a full day of action at
Cordoama beach and favorites all got their start. Eric Rebiere
(FRA), defending champion, was much awaited for his first
paddle-out and the former ASP Top 45 member ended up winning
with a solid 13.00 point heat tally (out of a possible 20).

With light winds and consistent three foot (one meter) waves
rolling in at Cordoama, all competitors were able to surf at
their best. Gony Zubizarreta (ESP), an ASP WQS Top European, put
on a show when he opened Round 2 with an impressive win over
Felix Delanne (FRA) and Borja Agote (ESP), posting a 17.34 point
heat tally (out of a possible 20) for the best result of the
event so far.

"I am stoked with this heat today", Zubizarreta said. "I have
been travelling a lot this year and doing lots of events, had a
few good results so I am very confident at the moment

Zubizarreta, who dominated Heat 1 with his custom made newschool
flying style, is seen as serious title contender at every ASP
WQS European events, but is still chasing a maiden WQS victory.

"I came to Portugal to practice and stay fit inbetween major
", Zubizarreta said. "I am having a good time and I love
Algarve [South Portugal]. I hope I can make my first WQS final
this weekend and off course win it if possible

All top European surfers managed to advance through to Round 3
today, and Justin Mujica (PRT) was another solid winner. Mujica,
a former ASP European Champion, was a standout in the Superbock
Pro and came close to best ZubizarretaÃÔ performance when he
secured a perfect 10.00 point ride (out of a possible 10) on his
first wave.

"As soon as I took off I felt my board was just perfect", Mujica
said. "It gave me confidence and I felt like I could go for some
big turns. I take heat by heat as usual but I really aim at

Mujica, who placed second to Joan Duru (FRA) in 2006 and equal
5th last year, has not won an event since his ASP WQS 2-Star O'Neill Trophy win a couple of years ago.

"I like it here, I feel at home when I compete in Cordoama",
Mujica said. "I had a couple of good results this year but I am
definitely chasing a win and I know this contest is usual a good
one for me

The Superbock Pro follows the Buondi Pro Junior and dozens of
rising talents have settled in Algarve and entered the ASP WQS
1-Star event. Among them is current ASP European Junior
ratingsNo. 2 Medi Veminardi (REU), and the 17-year-old man
advanced as well today.

Veminardi, who placed second to other top European Junior
Edouard Delpero (FRA), is gaining experience among the WQS
regional contingent and has potential to create some upsets when
Round 3 resumes.

"I am having a good time this year on the ASP European Pro
Junior tour
", Veminardi said. "Surfing with the experienced guys
in small WQS events is always a great opportunity so I have no

The waiting period runs until Sunday, July 13 and fifteen heats
only remain before the champion is crowned.


Heat 1: Gony Zubizarreta (ESP), Rudy Marechal (FRA), Joao Guedes
(PRT), Miguel Ximenez (PRT)
Heat 2: Felix Delanne (FRA), Alexandre Ferreira (PRT), Jatyr
Berasaluce (EUK), Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 3: Eric Rebiere (FRA), Josch Schmeltzer (DEU), Pablo
Gutierrez (ESP), Unai Arizeta (EUK)
Heat 4: Yann Martin (GLP), Haritz Mendiluze (EUK), Jean-Seb
Estienne (BLM), Txaber Trojaola (EUK)
Heat 5: Eduardo Fernandez (PRT), Igor Muniain (EUK), Lukas
Guichard (DEN), Medi Veminardi (REU)
Heat 6: Marlon Lipke (DEU), Benat Makazaga (EUK), Justin Mujica
(PRT), Edouard Delpero (FRA)
Heat 7: Simon Young (AUS), Ariano Marques (PRT), Lewis St John
(BRB), Ruben Gonzalez (PRT)
Heat 8: Omer Bar (ISR), Yannick De Jager (NDL), Ricardo Lange
(DEU), Adrien Valero (FRA)


Heat 1: Gony Zubizarreta (ESP) 17.34 pts, Felix Delanne (FRA)
10.60 pts, Borja Agote (EUK) 5.87 pts, Thomas Valente (PRT) No
Heat 2: Rudy Marechal (FRA) 8.50 pts, Alexandre Ferreira (PRT)
7.53 pts, Joao Mealha (PRT) 7.17 pts, Kepa Acero (EUK) No Show
Heat 3: Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK)14.50 pts, Joao Guedes (PRT) 11.16
pts, Gordon Fontaine (FRA) 9.77 pts, Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 6.56
Heat 4: Frederico Morais (PRT) 14.50 pts, Miguel Ximenez (PRT)
11.67 pts, Edgar Nozes (PRT) 8.63 pts, Fransisco Henriques (PRT)
No Show
Heat 5: Eric Rebiere (FRA) 12.17 pts, Yann Martin (GLP) 9.20
pts, Fransisco Canelas (PRT) 6.27 pts, Guillermo Alonso (ESP)
2.69 pts
Heat 6: Josch Schmeltzer (DEU) 9.47 pts, Haritz Mendiluze (EUK)
7.40 pts, Thomas Portet (FRA) 6.70 pts, Leonardo Belime (PRT)
6.66 pts
Heat 7: Jean-Seb Estienne (GLP) 13.50 pts, Pablo Gutierrez (ESP)
13.23 pts, Fransisco Alves (PRT) 8.00 pts, Tinguinha Lima (BRA)
No Show
Heat 8: Txaber Trojaola (EUK) 13.67 pts, Unai Arizeta (EUK) 7.96
pts, Manex Otegui (EUK) 6.10 pts, Pedro Pinto (PRT) 5.70 pts
Heat 9: Eduardo Fernandez (ESP) 13.43 pts, Marlon Lipke (DEU)
13.24 pts, David Luis (PRT) 8.33 pts, Ethan Egiguren (EUK) 5.00
Heat 10: Igor Muniain (EUK) 11.17 pts, Benat Makazaga (EUK) 8.83
pts, Tom Cloarec (FRA) 8.43 pts, Daniel Billon (FRA) 6.53 pts
Heat 11: Justin Mujica (PRT) 15.33 pts, Lukas Guichard (DEN)
11.26 pts, Lars Muschoot (BEL) 7.03 pts, Joachim Guichard (DEN)
6.67 pts
Heat 12: Edouard Delpero (FRA) 13.50 pts, Medi Veminardi (REU)
10.10 pts, Jason Griffith (USA) 9.23 pts, Marc Audo (FRA) 3.67
Heat 13: Simon Young (AUS) 6.90 pts, Omer Bar (ISR) 6.00 pts,
Ariano Marques (PRT) 2.87 pts, Joao Antunes (PRT) No Show
Heat 14: Ariano Marques (PRT) 13.33 pts, Yannick Dejaeger (NDL)
13.00 pts, Pablo Monteiro (ESP) 6.83 pts, Dane Hall (GBR) 6.76
Heat 15: Ricardo Lange (DEU) 11.94 pts, Lewis St John (BRB)
11.77 pts, Jose Maria Cabrera (CNY) 10.63 pts, Miguel Marinho
(PRT) 4.40 pts
Heat 16: Adrien Valero (FRA) 11.50 pts, Ruben Gonzalez (PRT)
10.93 pts, Asier Makeda (EUK) 6.36 pts, Juan Martinez (EUK) 5.36