Press Release
By Ryan - Magicseaweed.com
27th June 2007

Live Webcast: Top seeds announced for the Mr Price Pro South Africa

Mr. Price Pro

ASP 6 Star WQS Mens Event
ASP 5 Star WQS Womens Event
North Beach Durban South Africa
29 June - 8 July 2007

Live Coverage  |  Results/Photos/Videos etc

Top Seeds Announced for the Mr Price Pro

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 26 June, 2007 : - - Durban, KwaZulu- Natal -- Mr Price Pro fever hits Durban this week as surfers from around the globe pour into ‘Surf City’, in anticipation of the start to the six star ASP World Qualifying Series event, which gets underway at New Pier on Friday 29 June 2007.

Over three hundred professional surfers from the world’s leading surfing nations have entered to compete, in the hope of capturing the prestigious Mr Price Pro title as well as R 1,075 Million in prize money and valuable ASP ratings points. Current world number 11 on the Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour, Tom Whittaker (Australia) is the top seed for the event and one of 25 elite top 45 ASP World Tour campaigners, competing in Durban.

Joining Whittaker in the round of 96 is second seed Corey Lopez (Florida), a former world number three, with a total of 11 years experience on the ASP World Tour. Lopez is expected to be a top contender at the Mr Price Pro, having grown up surfing waves similar to those on offer at New Pier.

Third seed is none other than former ASP World Champion CJ Hobgood (Florida). Although currently rated 31st on the Fosters ASP World Tour, Hobgood is always one to perform, no matter what the conditions.

2006 Rookie of the Year Fredrick Pattachia (Hawaii) is the fourth seed and a loyal Mr Price Pro campaigner, having won the inaugural Mr Price Pro Junior in 2001. A master in the hollow waves of Hawaii, Pattachia is renowned as a prolific tube rider who is expected to slip into many a New Pier barrel next week.

Finally, South Africa’s Greg Emslie (East London) is the fifth seed and local favourite to take out the title. Currently rated 30th in the world, Emslie has been one of South Africa’s few, top performers at this event in the past, becoming the first Saffa to reach the final in 2004, where he paced third.

Although the event’s top seeds are expected to steal much of the limelight in the coming week, local campaigners Travis Logie (Durban), Ricky Basnett (Bluff), Royden Bryson (East London) and Jordy Smith (Umbilo) are poised to make an impact, having grown up surfing and competing along Durban’s Golden Mile.

All eyes will be on Basnett as the defending Mr Price Pro champion, who snatched an unbelievable victory at this event in 2006, becoming the first South African to do so since the 70’s. Currently in his first year on the WCT, Basnett is rated 25th in the world and has made no secret of his desire to take out another victory here this year.

Logie is currently in his third year on the WCT where he is rated 12th in the world, the highest out of the South African contingent on tour. This flashy goofy footer is always a standout at New Pier, his powerful backhand attack predicted to set him apart from the rest. Bryson, who is currently rated 36th in the world, will be looking to make an impact at this event in order to climb the WQS ratings to ensure he is back on the WCT in 2008.

Last but not least, reigning ASP World Junior Champion Jordy Smith (Durban), who is currently sitting at first on the ASP WQS, will be hunting down a victory at his home break. The super talented junior surfer captured the world’s attention with mind blowing performances across the globe over the last year and will be a treat to watch.

The Six Star WQS Mr Price Pro forms part of the Durban Beach Festival which takes place the length of Durban’s Golden Mile. For more information as well as images, results and live scoring log on to mrpricepro.com

Submitted By Ryan - Magicseaweed.com on the 27th June 2007.
This article has been viewed 3704 times.
  Be the first to comment on this article.

Add a CommentRules and Guidelines

Related Articles