Billabong Pro J-Bay webisode 2

ONLY seven surfers have won J-Bay since 1999, and only three of them went on to win world titles in the same year - Kelly Slater, Andy Irons and Mick Fanning. Two have won J-Bay twice - Joel Parkinson and Jake Paterson, whilst Taj Burrow and Jordy Smith have one apiece.

Here a few past champions talk about how to read one of the trickiest waves in the world, and what it felt like to conquer it and be in the running for the world title. Forecast is looking promising.

Watch it live HERE