Billabong Pro Mundaka on at Mundaka – Dual Heats Underway

MUNDAKA, Basque Country/Spain (Thursday, October 2, 2008) - Round 2 of the Billabong Pro Mundaka commenced at 9:30am in four to five foot (1 metre plus) waves at Mundaka. Event organizers and the ASP have opted to use the Dual Heat format today. Heats will be 40 minutes long.

First used in ASP World Tour competition at the Pipeline Masters in Hawaii last year, the 'Dual Heat' format features two heats run concurrently to maximize conditions on offer for the surfers and action in the water for the fans. The basic premise of the format is that heats overlap each other, allowing more heats to be run in less time without compromising the duration of the heats. Because Mundaka is a heavily tide-affected wave, the Billabong Pro Mundaka is a perfect place to use the format.

Once the first heat has hit the water, each subsequent heat will begin halfway through the heat that preceded it. Priority allocation (the right of way given to a surfer on a wave) will come into play the second half of each heat and two separate judging panels, each presided over by a separate head judge, will be on-hand to judge their allotted heats respectively.

Contest director Mike Parsons has said that we will wrap up Round 2 at approximately 3:10pm and will run as many heats of Round 3 as conditions allow. It is highly unlikely that we will make it to Heat 8 of Round 3 featuring ASP ratings leader Kelly Slater (USA) though. If Slater wins that Round 3 heat, he wins his ninth ASP World Title.

It's all LIVE on and

Billabong Pro Mundaka Round 2 Heat Match-ups:

Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Reubyn Ash (GBR)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Marco San Segundo (EUK)
Heat 3: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Txaber Trojaola (EUK)
Heat 4: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Hodei Collazo (EUK)
Heat 5: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
Heat 6: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Manoa Drollet (PYF)
Heat 7: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Ricky Basnett (ZAF)
Heat 8: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 9: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 10: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 11: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 12: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 13: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Heat 14: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)
Heat 15: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 16: Ben Dunn (AUS) vs. Pancho Sullivan (HAW)