Burrow Looks to Post Fourth Brazilian Victory at Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro

IMBITUBA, Brazil (Saturday, October 25, 2008) - ASP World No. 2 Taj Burrow (AUS) is currently competing in his 10th season on the ASP World Tour. If you look at his results over that decade, Brazil has been Burrow's most consistent event - three of his six ASP World Tour career wins were earned there. Burrow heads into the Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro, starting Tuesday, Oct. 28th, looking for victory No. 7.

"I am really determined to win an event this year and having Brazil next, I'm going to give it my best shot," Burrow said. "I feel confident having a good track record in Brazil so hopefully all goes to plan."

Burrow will have a good shot at the Hang Loose title with 11 of the Top 45 (four of the Top 10) ASP World Tour surfers pulling out of the event due to injury, personal reasons and burn out. Still hungry for a first place finish in 2008, Burrow never considered skipping Brazil.

"It is part of the tour and it's an event that is there for taking," Burrow said. "Winning contests is the most amazing feeling so why would I miss that opportunity. I can't wait."

Two-time defending Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) has withdrawn from the event due to a groin injury. Fanning won the 2007 ASP World Title in Imbituba and went on to win the event. Also out citing illness or injuries are Bobby Martinez (USA), Dane Reynolds (USA), Danny Wills (AUS), Dean Morrison (AUS) and Neco Padaratz (BRA).

ASP World Tour surfers count eight of 11 event results toward their year-end rating. Nine-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) will not go to Imbituba after securing the 2008 title at the last event in Spain. World No. 3 Joel Parkinson (AUS), three-time ASP World Champion Andy Irons (HAW), Bruce Irons (HAW) and Luke Munro (AUS) are also opting out of the Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro for various reasons and will count the result as one of their three throwaways.

Brazilians Fabio Gouveia, Gustavo Fernandes and Marco Polo are the Hang Loose nominated wildcards. The event replacement surfers are Hizunome Bettero (BRA), Pedro Henrique (BRA), Tanio Barreto (BRA), Gustavo Fernandes (BRA), Marcio Farney (BRA), William Cardoso (BRA), Simao Romao (BRA), Bruno Santos (BRA) and an Imbituba invitee yet to be announced.

For more information visit www.aspworldtour.com and www.hangloose.com.br/wct2008/en/index.php

Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro Round 1 Heat Draw

Heat 1: Kieren Perrow (AUS), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Hizunome Bettero (BRA)
Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Jay Thompson (AUS), Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 3: Kai Otton (AUS), Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Fabio Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 4: Luke Stedman (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 5: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Tanio Barreto (BRA)
Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Mikael Picon (FRA), Gustavo Fernandes (BRA)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Mick Campbell (AUS), Marcio Farney (BRA)
Heat 8: Taj Burrow (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), WC ASI (BRA)
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Roy Powers (HAW), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Jano Belo (BRA)
Heat 11: Taylor Knox (USA), Royden Bryson (ZAF), Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 12: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Ben Bourgeois (USA), William Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 13: Chris Ward (USA), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Simao Romao (BRA)
Heat 14: Dayyan Neve (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 15: Tim Reyes (USA), Jihad Khodr (BRA), Ricky Basnett (ZAF)
Heat 16: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Daniel Ross (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)