Gutierrez Wins Superbock Pro in Cordoama, Portugal

CORDOAMA, Portugal (Sunday, July 13, 2008) Pablo Gutierrez
(ESP), 26, won the ASP WQS 1-Star Superbock Pro event in
Cordoama, South Portugal, today after defeating underdog Eduardo
Fernandes (PRT) in the final. Gutierrez, who won his first ASP
World Qualifying Series (WQS) event in 2002 in Portugal,
defeated Jean-Sebastien Estienne (GLP) and defending champion
Eric Rebiere (FRA) on his way to victory and jumps to No. 32 on
the ASP WQS European ratings with two events only under his

Gutierrez, a.k.a the Matador, a former ASP European runner-up,
used his experience and tactics to patiently wait for the best
scoring potential waves and leave runner-up Fernandes away from
the crown after he posted a last second 7.33 point ride (out of
a possible 10).

"The conditions were very difficult today and I used a lot of
patience to choose the better waves
", Gutierrez said. "I managed
to find two good waves per heat today and eventually secure the
win. I am stoked to win a contest, and now that I am a full time
free surer for my sponsor I even more happy to keep both things
going. So Stoked

Gutierrez, who ended up winning with a 12.33 point total to
Fernandes' 9.80 pts heat score (both out of a possible 20), was
impressed by his opponent's level.

"Eduardo (Fernandes) surfed really well", Gutierrez said. "I did
not know him before this event but I can tell he will be a
serious contender among the ASP European events from now on

Eduardo Fernandes (PRT), 20, who finished runner-up in the ASP
Grade-1 Buondi Pro Junior last wednesday, ended up second in the
Superbock Pro for his first appearance ever on an ASP WQS event.
Fernandes, who defeated some of Europe's best surfers including
longtime ASP European competitor Ruben Gonzalez (PRT), could not
counter Gutierrez' tactics in the last man-on-man heat of the

"It has been a great week for me and two runner-up results",
Fernandes said. "It was my first WQS event ever and I reached
the final so I could not hope for more. I would have loved to
win though

Fernandes will now be much expected by all European surfers and
is not an outsider anymore. He aims at competing in other ASP
WQS events this year.

"The level is good and I was stoked to be part of these good
", Fernandes said. "I will try and attend as many events
as possible this year and just take things relaxed. I have no
pressure, I am just starting

Eric Rebiere (FRA), Superbock defending champion, was defeated
by Gutierrez in the semifinals and leaves Portugal with an equal
3rd place. Rebiere now sits No. 3 on the ASP WQS European

"I was really focused and was going for a repeat but the
conditions were tough
", Rebiere said. "I really wanted that win
but Pablo (Gutierrez) found the better waves so there was
nothing I could do

Gony Zubizarreta (ESP) who dominated the event posting
impressive scores on Day 2 and 3, was eliminated in Quarterfinal
No. 1 by Rebiere earlier in the day and missed the opportunity
to seize his maiden ASP WQS crown today. Zubizarreta, who has
had a couple of solid results this year, remains one of the
current European leaders among the international ratings.

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying
Series (WQS) European Tour will now have a three-week break
before all main WQS events get underway in August.


Heat: Pablo Gutierrez (ESP) 12.33 pts Def. Eduardo Fernandes
(PRT) 9.80 pts


Heat 1: Pablo Gutierrez (ESP) 10.20 pts Def. Eric Rebiere (FRA)
8.50 pts
Heat 2: Eduardo Fernandez (PRT) 11.66 pts Def. Ruben Gonzalez
(PRT) 10.53 pts


Heat 1: Eric Rebiere (FRA) 13.50 pts Def. Gony Zubizarreta (ESP)
8.67 pts
Heat 2: Pablo Gutierrez (ESP) 11.44 pts Def. Jean-Seb Estienne
(GLP) 10.56 pts
Heat 3: Ruben Gonzalez (PRT) 12.34 pts Def. Marlon Lipke (DEU)
9.83 pts
Heat 4: Eduardo Fernandez (PRT) 12.67 pts Def. Yannick De Jager
(NDL) 6.76 pts


1. Hugo Savalli (REU), 1964 pts
2. Ruben Gonzalez (PRT), 1443 pts

3. Eric Rebiere (FRA), 1439 pts
4. Romain Laulhe (FRA), 1425 pts
5. Jean-Seb Estienne (BLM), 1334 pts
6. Joan Duru (FRA), 1241 pts
7. Justin Mujica (PRT), 1121 pts
8. Michel Bourez (PYF), 1068 pts
9. Simon Marchand (FRA), 1050 pts
10. Txaber Trojaola (EUK), 1023 pts