Rip Curl Padang Padang Cup Will Be Live

THE Rip Curl Padang Padang Cup will be webcast live for the first time in 2013. Indonesia's longest-running surf contest has seen some of the finest tube masters of the modern era compete in the spitting barrels of Padang Padang and this is something the event has been crying out for.

On July 1st, the collective focus of the surfing world will again turn to Bali to see what new surfing history is made during the 2013 Rip Curl Cup (waiting period from July 1st – August 15th).

International icons such as: Jamie O'Brien, Dean Morrison, Chris Ward, Makua Rothman, Ry Craike and Ozzie Wright have all put on life-affirming performances. Meanwhile, Indonesia's top surfers like Rizal, Garut, Bol, Mega, Lee Wilson, Marlon Gerber and Dede Suryana have consistently proven they can compete with the best in the world at the Balinese Pipeline.

As a surf forecaster an event like the Rip Curl Padang Padang Cup, with its long holding period and exacting standards, is the ultimate challenge. While Indo is blessed with year round swell the contest demands that the best tube riders in the world are in the water for the best swell of the season and spotting this in advance tests everything we've learnt in over a decade of surf forecasting. We're stoked to have the chance to be involved again with the event and really excited to see that this years contest will be streamed live from the beach.Ben Freeston, Event Forecaster

Rip Curl has announced 14 of the 16 Indonesian surfers invited to compete for the Cup in 2013: Rizal Tanjung, Bol Adi Putra, Garut Widiarta, Pepen Hendrik, Dede Suryana, Mega Semadhi,
Lee Wilson, Raditya Rondi, Betet Merta, Mustofa Jeksen, Marlon Gerber, Made Lana, Wayan Gobleg, and Usman Trioko.

The additional two local spots remaining in the event will be determined by the local trials, to be held at Padang Padang or backup location Uluwatu on the best day of surf conditions between June 24th - 29th. The winner of the trials and the highest placing surfer hailing from Bali's Bukit peninsula will both gain entry into the main event and the chance to compete for their share of the $10,000 prize purse and one of the most coveted trophies in surfing.

The 16 international competitors have yet to be announced, however with past champions such as Jamie O'Brien and Chris Ward, expect to see a roll call of the best tube riders on Earth on hand at Padang to challenge for one of the most prestigious titles in competitive surfing.

The complete list of 32 invitees, including the Mystery Wildcard, will be released prior to the June 30th Opening Ceremony at Padang Padang beach. Watch all the action LIVE at or on your smartphone with the Rip Curl Live Events App. The LIVE webcast will include an online Heat Analyzer, so if you miss the action on contest day you can got to the event website and replay all the highlights from the contest any time, as many times as you want.

Jim Houghton

Editor at Magicseaweed